The Chair's Award

The Chair's Award is presented by the current chairperson of the Board to recognize outstanding contributions to the Association.

Nominations for the Chair’s Award are made by the President and the Board of Directors of the TCIA. The recipient is honored at TCIA’s annual Winter Management Conference.

Current winner

Walter E. Money is Chair’s Award recipient

The Chair’s Award is presented each year at Winter Management Conference by the outgoing chairperson of the TCIA Board to recognize outstanding contributions to the Association. Andy Ross, president of RTEC Treecare, selected the 2016 recipient and presented the award during WMC 2017 in Puerto Rico in February. This text is extracted from his presentation and a video RTEC made with Money prior to the presentation.

moneyEach year, the TCIA Chair has the privilege of recognizing a member of our industry who is providing exemplary service to the tree care industry. This year I chose someone who exemplifi es the concept of mentorship. This year’s Chair’s Award honoree is one of the most important mentors in our industry – to me and the industry. This morning we’d like to recognize Walter E. Money.

Walt Money is a leader in our industry. He fi rst opened his tree care business, Guardian Tree Experts Inc. in Potomac, Maryland, more than 50 years ago and grew it into a thriving company that would go on to infl uence the atmosphere of the tree care industry.

Walt not only put everything into growing his own business but also wholeheartedly volunteered his time. He volunteered his company’s time and services by planting the National Christmas Tree on the mall, caring for the trees at Arlington National Cemetery, and caring for a four-and-a-halfcentury-old great holly on the campus of St. Mary’s College, just to name a few.

For 99 percent of the 20-plus years that I’ve been actively involved in the industry, Walt Money has always been there. He’s an amazing representative for the association. He’s an amazing contributor to the industry. He is always willing to help. He’s always willing to visit. He is always willing with anything you need both on the tactical front with your business and with specific information, but also on the motivational front.

As an individual, Walt, led the National Arborist Association (NAA), now TCIA, as an active member, treasurer and, eventually, president in 1981, as well as leading the Maryland Arborists Association as a board member and president. To quote Walt, “You get out of this industry what you put into it.” And Walt has given everything to further the tree care industry and thus so is no stranger to awards.

Walt was the 1990 NAA Award of Merit honoree, the 2010 Greydon Tolson Forest Resource Conservationist Award winner, and now is the 2016 TCIA Chair’s Award recipient.

Past winners

  • 2015 Peter Becker
  • 2014 Chris Frank
  • 2013 Howard Eckel
  • 2012 Mark Garvin
  • 2011 Terrill Collier
  • 2010 Tony Gann
  • 2009 Dr. Michael Raupp
  • 2008 Bob Rouse
  • 2007 Dave Zerfoss
  • 2006 Penny Judd
  • 2005 Cynthia Mills
  • 2004 Jerry Morey
  • 2003 Tom Tolkacz
  • 2002 NAA Staff
  • 2001 Robert A. Bartlett, Jr.
  • 2000 Pat Felix and Peter Gerstenberger
  • 1998 50-Year Member Companies: Alpine the Care of Trees, Inc.; Forest City Tree Protection Co., Inc.; Gustin Gardens Tree Service, Inc.; H. A. Morrison, Arborist; Ira Wickes / Arborists; K. P. Soergel & Associates, Inc.; Neville Landscape & Tree Service; Swingle Tree Company; Walgren Tree Experts, Inc.
  • 1997 Peter Sortwell
  • 1996 NAA Board
  • 1995 Rusty Girouard
  • 1994 NAA Staff